Weight Loss

Bad Days…or Weeks

The last week or so I have not been in the mood to go to the gym and work out at hard as I have been the last 5-7 weeks.

Today, I was looking through my past Instagram posts and came across my first serious fitness post. It was 7 weeks ago on 8/18/16 and I posted a picture of the Nike app with my GPS where I walked around the Marina. In my caption I said,

“This is what death feels like for out of shape people…. The hardest part about losing weight is the commitment.”

I kept looking through more recent posts and I came across another one 2 weeks ago (or 5 weeks from the first post I mentioned). In this caption I said,

“Almost jogged the whole Marina, only stopped once! My calf muscles are screaming but it feels so good to run again!”

I realized I need to stop being so hard on myself because although I am not seeing the drastic results I wanted, I have still come a long ways! There are good days and bad days, good weeks and bad weeks, but I have to remember that and day or week that I TRY is a good day or week. We have to let ourselves enjoy life once in awhile and not lock ourselves away at the gym or stick to eating healthy. Which brings me to another post I shared a couple weeks ago,

“3 weeks ago I couldn’t hardly do 5 minutes on the stair climber. Today I did a full 20 while doing backward kicks!”

In this post I have two quotes, “One of the greatest moments in life is realizing that two weeks ago, your body couldn’t do what it just did” and “it’s not about being the best. It’s about being better than you were yesterday”. As long as I am getting stronger and healthier than I was in the beginning, then I am doing everything right. I didn’t expect this process to be easy. Did I expect it to work faster? Yes, if we are being honest, I figured I would be over 20 pounds lighter by now. I also have to remember, its only been about 7 WEEKS since I started taking this seriously. I still have 3 months to get where I want to be for my first goal and I don’t plan on quitting after my cruise! This is a lifelong commitment I made to myself and I will see it through no matter how long it takes.

. . .

This past weekend, my friend and I were going to go for a small hike on the flat. We ended up climbing a mountain that, from a distance, did not seem as steep as it actually was! Not only was it super steep and we jogged up most the mountain, but it was actually pretty smokey and rocky! We were not as ambitious as we thought, so we only made it about half of where we wanted to go, but we are going to save that for next time! Needless to say, the next couple days after this “climb”, my lower legs and ankles were DYING!

2016-10-08-11-08-46-1

{Sorry for the bad quality, I did edit it a bit to brighten it up!}

But the most important thing is that even though I have a bad day or week, I follow it up with a great one! Even though I have 25+ more pounds to lose until my first goal, I am still on track for success! I just have to keep pushing myself and find new ways to motivate myself! My self to-do list for this month?

  • No Scale until the end of October (ok, so I broke this rule, but lets start as of today 10/11/16)
  • Get below 200 lbs by the end of October
  • Eat more veggies and less fruit
  • Go 30 minutes on the Stairclimber
  • Drink more Peach Tea ❤

Oh, and I’ll leave this humorous SnapChat here from last weeks workout. I didn’t want to be there…but I sure as hell challenged myself!

#snapchatsawitfirst

death

Leave a Reply

