Weight Loss

A Work in Progress

Just when you feel like you haven’t made progress, you find out that you’ve made more progress than you imagined. I have said time and time again that the scale (or more so the number on the scale) does not define your progress. While it is important, progress photos is where it is at! You will never see a difference in the mirror or even on the scale, but you better believe that your body is changing. I have a really hard time with judging my progress based on the scale because I only take progress pictures every month or so.

“Don’t wait until you’ve reached your goal to be proud of yourself. Be proud of every step you take toward reaching your goal”

instasize_0109224247I was reminded recently, that I need to be proud of how far I have come and the daily progress that I am making. As of this morning, I am my lowest weight but it has been a battle this last month because I have been in such a plateau. I have bounced around between 208 and 204 (on my best day). It has been a real struggle mentally and physically because I have been pushing myself at the gym and I have been eating decently, so why is the weight not falling off? It wasn’t until I started trying clothes on that I was packing for our upcoming family vacation that I noticed a difference in the way things looked and felt on me. Some clothes I still wasn’t happy with, but some were far too big. I had been focusing so much on what the scale was telling me that I didn’t listen to what my body was telling me.

“Little by little, a little becomes a lot”

20170109_192701

The best part of my journey is that I have not once thought about quitting. I may have lost motivation at times, but it feels so good to be able to change your mind and body in ways you never thought you could. Whenever I am feeling like I have hit a discouraging point, I just look back at what I used to look like and remember how awful I used to feel (not in a self conscious way but in a health/lifestyle way). I remember always being lazy and tired, wanting to eat crappy food, and overall feeling depressed about myself. I realize now that even though the “pounds” are shedding off, I am making so much progress to better my life. I have improved as a person just because of this lifestyle change. I am really looking forward to my end result, not matter how long it takes me.

20170109_223523

Leave a Reply

