Britt ♥ Bryan

Hello 2017.

Achieving goals is difficult. Often times we set goals for ourself that are out of reach or impossible to achieve at that time. In other words, we set the bar too high.!

I used to set unrealistic goals all the time, and you have too! These goals are:

“I want to lose weight”, “I want to travel more”, “I want to move up in my position at work”, etc. Goals that have no plan essentially.

Goal setting is easy, achieving it can be impossible. Here is what I do to achieve my personal and career goals.

I start by setting a “SMART” goal.

S-Specific, M-Measurable, A-Attainable, R-Realistic, T-Timely

These are goals above are great and all, but they are not specific enough, they do not have a measurable amount of time placed to them, and they aren’t realistic or attainable (because what are you doing to get there when you don’t even know what your aiming for).

My personal goal is to lose 50 pounds in 2017. Considering that I lost 20 pounds in 4 months, 50 pounds in a one year time frame should be realistic and attainable. I am specific about losing 50 pounds within 2017. I can measure my success daily, weekly or monthly which will keep me on track.

My career driven goal is a 6-month goal currently. I was given a year-end review in 2016 where I was told that I could move up in my position if I continued my education and stayed with the company minimum one year. I am to have another review in June to go over my accomplishments. So, with that being said…My career goal is to continue my education and train with other co-workers before June. This goal also follows all of the SMART goal rules.

Goals are important to me so I not only set large goals, but smaller short term goals. For example, to keep me on track with my personal goal, I might set a series of small goals each month to keep me on task. It is important to review your goals each day no matter how big or small they are. Ultimately, you are creating a life-style and by making healthy habits and following them daily, your conscious will take care of the rest.

 

 

Leave a Reply

