Weight Loss

Back on Track

As you may remember from my last post, I am trying to make a comeback from being in a plateau (definitely my fault). Weight loss plateaus are discouraging and hard to deal with at times. What did I honestly expect when I was not eating very good and not going to the gym? Even though I only gained a few pounds, it was still hard to see the number on the scale go up…even just a little!Plateau Funny

The last three weeks I have been working on changing my routine. I have been going to the gym again about 3-5 times a week and incorporating more weight lifting into my routine in addition to about 40-45 minutes of cardio. I have learned to love the row machine and stair climber but I try not to do them every single day and add variety to my workouts.

I have been working out my abs every single time I go to the gym, but then alternating with arms, legs, back and chest. My arms are super weak so I only do about 20-30 pounds and do 3 reps of “go until they give out”. My legs are pretty strong so I can do between 70-110 pounds depending on the machine. I try to do 15-20 sets on legs.

In addition to my workouts, I have been drinking (consistently) 2 liters of water a day. Which as my followers know is a REALLY big deal because I loath water. I have also been eating A LOT better, even though on weekends I tend to spurge a little bit while maintaining my allowed calories. I have drastically cut back on portions. If I am feeling hungry, I try to just drink more water.Plateau

Below is a picture of my entire journey. The highest peak was when I decided to do something about it  to now. After the second spike in weight (January after my cruise) I lost the excess weight fast but then you can see where I plateaued and steadily gained. Since then I have come back to “almost” my lowest weight since the first big spike. It is not easy to keep fluctuating, but I have to remember what is working and roll with it. The scale is not always a good tool. The progress pictures make all the difference and taking measurements. I have been using the scale daily but this is because I am making drastic lifestyle changed and want to track what is working and what isn’t. I have about 4-6 pounds before I am at my next goal weight and once I hit that, the scale will be going away and I will focus on progress in other ways.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 2.06.19 PM

 

Until then, thank you for all the support 🙂 xoxo Britt

Leave a Reply

